Electoral Panorama / Panorama Electoral
Election Resources on the Internet's Weblog / El weblog de Recursos Electorales en la Internet

  Links / Enlaces
    Election Resources on the Internet
Recursos Electorales en la Internet
Global Economy Matters
A Fistful of Euros
Fruits and Votes
The Monkey Cage
World Elections
Elections en Europe - in French
Reading Politics

  Archives / Archivos
    July 2006
August 2006
September 2006
October 2006
November 2006
January 2007
February 2007
March 2007
April 2007
May 2007
June 2007
July 2007
September 2007
October 2007
November 2007
January 2008
February 2008
March 2008
May 2008
June 2008
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
May 2009
July 2009
November 2009
January 2010
February 2010
April 2011
September 2011
March 2012
April 2012
August 2012
September 2013
June 2014
September 2014
November 2014
January 2015
September 2015
 
  Sat, Jan 20, 2007
2007 Parliamentary Elections in Serbia
The Republic of Serbia holds parliamentary elections on Sunday, January 21, 2007, in which voters will choose members of the country's unicameral legislature, the National Assembly.

Political parties, coalitions of parties and other political organizations, and citizens' groups submit closed electoral lists of candidates for elections to the 250-seat National Assembly of the Republic of Serbia, which is chosen by universal suffrage for a four-year period of office. Seats in the National Assembly are distributed on a nationwide basis by the d'Hondt or largest average method of proportional representation, among lists that receive at least five percent of the vote. This requirement is waived for lists representing ethnic minorities, which need to poll just 0.4% of the vote in order to secure parliamentary representation.

A total of 6,652,105 electors will choose among twenty electoral lists fielding 3,799 candidates between themselves. Six electoral lists belong to parties representing ethnic minorities, most notably among them the Coalition of Albanians from the Presevo Valley - the first ethnic Albanian group to contest an election in Serbia in ten years.

Voting stations open at 6:00 AM GMT (1:00 AM EST) on January 21 and close at 7:00 PM GMT (2:00 PM EST) that same day. Election results are expected to be published online starting at 9:00 PM GMT (4:00 PM EST).

Update

A posting covering both preliminary and definitive election results is available at Global Economy Matters, under Weimar Serbia? Ultranationalists top parliamentary poll once more.

posted by Manuel Álvarez-Rivera : 01/20/2007 21:12 | permanent link